City of Arvada and AEDA Combined News And Press Releases Feed https://arvada.org/press-releases Explore News And Press Releases from the City of Arvada. en-US hourly 1 Copyright 2020 City of Arvada, Colorado Tue, 14 Jul 2020 07:26:55 -0600 Tue, 14 Jul 2020 07:26:55 -0600 60 City Update: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion https://arvada.org/city-update-diversity-equity-and-inclusivity Mon, 06 Jul 2020 08:10:56 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-update-diversity-equity-and-inclusivity The Arvada City Council’s June 11 statement acknowledges the senseless death of George Floyd and speaks to how we plan to address systemic racism and create an even more equitable and inclusive City named as a Silver-level Bicycle Friendly Community https://arvada.org/city-named-as-a-silver-level-bicycle-friendly-community Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:05:55 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-named-as-a-silver-level-bicycle-friendly-community   Today, the League of American Bicyclists honored the efforts of Arvada to build better places for people to bike with a silver-level Bicycle Friendly Community (BFC) award. Arvada joins 482 co Arvada City Council releases statement regarding the death of George Floyd https://arvada.org/arvada-city-council-releases-statement-regarding-the-death-of-george-floyd Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:05:23 -0600 https://arvada.org/arvada-city-council-releases-statement-regarding-the-death-of-george-floyd June 11, 2020 Fellow Arvadans, We remain horrified by the senseless death of George Floyd through the actions of members of the Minneapolis Police Department. Our thoughts and prayers are with his f City Continues Phased Reopening of City Facilities https://arvada.org/city-continues-phased-reopening-of-city-facilities-1592238011 Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:04:54 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-continues-phased-reopening-of-city-facilities-1592238011 The City of Arvada continues the process of reopening City facilities to in-person services while prioritizing the health and safety of the Arvada community and members of the City team. During the ph City Council Approves Organized Waste Hauling https://arvada.org/city-council-approves-organized-waste-hauling Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:04:30 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-council-approves-organized-waste-hauling After more than 18 months of extensive research, analysis and public engagement, the Arvada City Council has approved an organized, citywide waste hauling system. At its June 15 business meeting, Coun City Announces First Official Report of Emerald Ash Borer in Arvada https://arvada.org/city-announces-first-official-report-of-emerald-ash-borer-in-arvada Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:04:04 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-announces-first-official-report-of-emerald-ash-borer-in-arvada State officials have confirmed the presence of emerald ash borer (EAB) in the City of Arvada. First detected in Colorado in 2013 and more recently found in neighboring municipalities, this invasive an Press Release, March 13: City Declares State of Emergency, Announces Next Steps of COVID-19 Preparation and Response https://arvada.org/city-announces-next-level-of-covid-19-preparation-and-response Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:02:43 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-announces-next-level-of-covid-19-preparation-and-response Today, Arvada City Manager Mark Deven declared a State of Emergency. The declaration gives the City the flexibility it needs to more quickly acquire and apply resources to support residents and partne Press Release, March 16: City Facilities Closed to Public Effective March 16 https://arvada.org/city-facilities-closed-to-public-effective-march-16 Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:02:21 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-facilities-closed-to-public-effective-march-16 Today, the City of Arvada announced the closure of all City facilities to the public effective tomorrow, March 16. This closure includes, but is not limited to, public business and activities at City Press Release, March 23: City extends State of Emergency and facilities closure https://arvada.org/city-extends-state-of-emergency-and-facilities-closure Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:02:01 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-extends-state-of-emergency-and-facilities-closure On March 23, the Arvada City Council extended the City emergency declaration through April 6, and today, the City extended the closure of all City facilities to the public through April 10. These acti City Extends Emergency Declaration to April 30; Facilities Closure to April 26 https://arvada.org/city-extends-emergency-declaration-to-april-30-facilities-closure-to-april-26 Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:01:34 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-extends-emergency-declaration-to-april-30-facilities-closure-to-april-26 City extends Emergency Declaration to April 30; facilities closure to April 26    In alignment with the State of Colorado’s extension of the Stay-At-Home Public Health Order, the Cit Stay-At-Home Order Issued https://arvada.org/stay-at-home-orders-issued Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:00:51 -0600 https://arvada.org/stay-at-home-orders-issued The City of Arvada continues to follow the recommendations of state and local health officials in responding to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), and we thank the Arvada community for the effort and s City Continues Phased Reopening of City Facilities https://arvada.org/city-facilities-closed-to-public Tue, 23 Jun 2020 16:00:32 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-facilities-closed-to-public Phased opening of City facilities continues City Council to Host Remote Public Forum Regarding COVID-19 https://arvada.org/city-council-to-host-remote-public-forum-regarding-covid-19 Tue, 23 Jun 2020 15:48:28 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-council-to-host-remote-public-forum-regarding-covid-19 On Monday, April 20, the Arvada City Council will host a remote public forum to discuss the City’s response to the ongoing health crisis caused by the novel coronavirus (CO City Extends Facilities Closure to May 10 https://arvada.org/city-extends-facilities-closure-to-may-10 Tue, 23 Jun 2020 15:48:10 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-extends-facilities-closure-to-may-10 The City of Arvada has extended the closure of its facilities through May 10, following Governor Polis’ recent announcement regarding the upcoming end to the state Stay-at-Home Order after Apr City Approved $2.5 Million in Support of Local Businesses https://arvada.org/city-approved-2-5-million-in-support-of-local-businesses Tue, 23 Jun 2020 15:46:59 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-approved-2-5-million-in-support-of-local-businesses The City of Arvada has announced next steps in its proactive approach to helping the local business community survive the negative economic impacts of the COVID-19 public health crisis. Th Water Tower in Olde Town Gets a Facelift https://arvada.org/water-tower-in-olde-town-gets-a-facelift Tue, 16 Jun 2020 15:33:57 -0600 https://arvada.org/water-tower-in-olde-town-gets-a-facelift Built in 1910, Arvada's iconic Water Tower is getting painted and polished New Chief Information Officer Joins City team https://arvada.org/new-chief-information-officer-joins-city-team Mon, 15 Jun 2020 13:34:35 -0600 https://arvada.org/new-chief-information-officer-joins-city-team The City of Arvada is pleased to announce Craig Poley as the City’s new Chief Information Officer. Poley was selected from a pool of nearly 140 qualified candidates in a nationwide search. Pole City Cancels 2020 Fireworks Display; Announces Neighborhood Porch Festival https://arvada.org/city-cancels-annual-fireworks-display-announces-re-imagined-celebration Fri, 29 May 2020 14:33:28 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-cancels-annual-fireworks-display-announces-re-imagined-celebration Since the beginning of the COVID-19 health crisis, the City of Arvada has continued to focus on the health and safety of residents, visitors and members of the City team. In line with this priorit Whisper Creek Community Station https://arvada.org/whisper-creek-community-station Thu, 28 May 2020 07:03:59 -0600 https://arvada.org/whisper-creek-community-station The Whisper Creek Community Station is now open City Continues Phased Reopening of City Facilities https://arvada.org/city-continues-phased-reopening-of-city-facilities Wed, 27 May 2020 13:13:50 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-continues-phased-reopening-of-city-facilities   The City of Arvada continues the process of reopening City facilities to in-person services while prioritizing the health and safety of the Arvada community and members of the City team. &nbs Organized Waste Hauling Public Hearing June 15; City Offers Ways to Learn More https://arvada.org/organized-waste-hauling-public-hearing-june-15-city-offers-ways-to-learn-more Tue, 26 May 2020 13:11:43 -0600 https://arvada.org/organized-waste-hauling-public-hearing-june-15-city-offers-ways-to-learn-more The next important step in the public process for the City of Arvada’s Organized Waste Hauling Project will occur at the June 15 City Council public hearing, where City Council will hear and con City Achieves Prestigious Public Works Accreditation for the Second Time https://arvada.org/city-achieves-prestigious-public-works-accreditation-for-the-second-time Mon, 18 May 2020 09:12:10 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-achieves-prestigious-public-works-accreditation-for-the-second-time The City of Arvada Departments of Public Works and Utilities recently received full accreditation by the American Public Works Association (APWA) for the second time. This accreditation formally verif Complaints About Weeds https://arvada.org/complaints-about-weeds-on-the-rise Wed, 13 May 2020 15:11:09 -0600 https://arvada.org/complaints-about-weeds-on-the-rise The City has received an increased number of phone calls regarding weed growth in the community. We understand that tall weeds can be an eyesore, whether it is on your neighbor’s property, in th Remembering Don Allard (1929-2020) https://arvada.org/remembering-don-allard Thu, 12 Mar 2020 16:41:16 -0600 https://arvada.org/remembering-don-allard It was the end of an era at the November 13, 2017 Arvada City Council meeting when longtime City Councilmember Don Allard formally retired from decades of public service. His contributions t News and Press Releases https://arvada.org/press-releases Tue, 11 Feb 2020 13:22:10 -0700 https://arvada.org/press-releases This page includes archived press releases and news from the City of Arvada and Arvada Police Department.   For more information or media inquiries, please contact: Maria Vande City Recognized for Excellence in Governmental Budgeting https://arvada.org/city-recognized-for-excellence-in-governmental-budgeting Wed, 25 Sep 2019 16:12:36 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-recognized-for-excellence-in-governmental-budgeting For the 28th straight year, the City of Arvada has received the Government Finance Officers Association’s (GFOA) Distinguished Budget Presentation Award.  The award reflects the City&rsquo Smoking Restricted in Public Places https://arvada.org/smoking-restricted-in-public-places Thu, 18 Jul 2019 13:49:26 -0600 https://arvada.org/smoking-restricted-in-public-places Ordinance 4501 extending the City's existing smoke-free law went into effect May 13, 2015 Don Allard Honored for Decades of Public Service https://arvada.org/don-allard-honored-for-decades-of-public-service Tue, 26 Feb 2019 13:09:28 -0700 https://arvada.org/don-allard-honored-for-decades-of-public-service It was the end of an era at the November 13, 2017 Arvada City Council meeting when longtime City Councilmember  Telephone Scam https://arvada.org/telephone-scam Wed, 16 Jan 2019 10:48:19 -0700 https://arvada.org/telephone-scam August 2017 Please be aware residents are receiving solicitation calls from phone numbers that appear to be from the City of Arvada. This is NOT the City of Arvada calling. Scammers frequently "s Arvada Police and Northey Foundation announce establishment of Jim Glasmann Memorial Scholarship https://arvada.org/arvada-police-and-northey-foundation-announce-establishment-of-jim-glasmann-memorial-scholarship-1517854382 Wed, 16 Jan 2019 10:46:36 -0700 https://arvada.org/arvada-police-and-northey-foundation-announce-establishment-of-jim-glasmann-memorial-scholarship-1517854382 Arvada, CO February 5, 2018 – The Northey Foundation and Arvada Police today announce the establishment of the Jim Glasmann Memorial Scholarship. Administered in conjunction with the Jeffco Sch