City of Arvada News Article Feed https://arvada.org Explore News Articles from the City of Arvada. en-US hourly 1 Copyright 2019 City of Arvada, Colorado Sun, 22 Sep 2019 11:52:22 -0600 Sun, 22 Sep 2019 11:52:22 -0600 60 Emergency Closure:  Simms St https://arvada.org/emergency-closure-simms-st-between-72nd-and-80th Sat, 21 Sep 2019 14:24:27 -0600 https://arvada.org/emergency-closure-simms-st-between-72nd-and-80th Simms Street is closed from 72nd to 80th for an emergency water line repair. The City will post an update when the road re-opens.  Indiana Street and 72nd Avenue Intersection Upgrade Project https://arvada.org/indiana-street-and-72nd-avenue-intersection-upgrade-project Fri, 20 Sep 2019 11:12:34 -0600 https://arvada.org/indiana-street-and-72nd-avenue-intersection-upgrade-project 72nd west of Indiana has re-opened. City Recognized for Excellence in Governmental Budgeting https://arvada.org/city-recognized-for-excellence-in-governmental-budgeting Wed, 18 Sep 2019 12:46:30 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-recognized-for-excellence-in-governmental-budgeting For the 28th straight year, the City of Arvada has received the Government Finance Officers Association’s (GFOA) Distinguished Budget Presentation Award.  The award reflects the City&rsquo Resident Rebate https://arvada.org/taxrebate Tue, 10 Sep 2019 07:47:44 -0600 https://arvada.org/taxrebate The deadline to apply for the Resident Rebate is August 31, 2019 McIntyre Street Improvement Project https://arvada.org/mcintyre-street-improvement-project Tue, 10 Sep 2019 06:06:04 -0600 https://arvada.org/mcintyre-street-improvement-project The McIntyre Street roadway improvements project is in the second phase of construction, between W. 56th Place and W. 58th Avenue. Roadway improvements will include:   Widening of the road City Hires New Director of Utilities https://arvada.org/city-hires-new-directors-of-utilities Fri, 06 Sep 2019 10:18:56 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-hires-new-directors-of-utilities Sharon Israel has been named Arvada’s new Director of Utilities.  Israel was most recently with the City of Westminster where she was Stormwater Utility Administrator and Senior Projects E Lake Arbor Dredging https://arvada.org/lake-arbor-dredging Fri, 06 Sep 2019 10:16:01 -0600 https://arvada.org/lake-arbor-dredging Watercraft and technical staff may be present on and near Lake Arbor. Their work is related to this project.  Project Overview The City has engaged a Clear Creek Corridor Master Plan https://arvada.org/clear-creek-corridor-master-plan Tue, 03 Sep 2019 15:10:54 -0600 https://arvada.org/clear-creek-corridor-master-plan Public Input is Invited on this Project Trees Across Arvada https://arvada.org/trees-across-arvada-program Mon, 02 Sep 2019 16:38:55 -0600 https://arvada.org/trees-across-arvada-program Arvada residents have the opportunity to purchase low cost shade trees! City Hires New Director of Public Works https://arvada.org/city-hires-new-director-of-public-works Thu, 29 Aug 2019 15:30:32 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-hires-new-director-of-public-works Don Wick has been named Arvada’s new Director of Public Works. Don Wick returns to the City of Arvada as the Director of Public Works. He was with the Arvada Police Department for more than thi Update: Quiet Zones Along Union Pacific  https://arvada.org/quiet-zones-along-union-pacific-progressing Fri, 23 Aug 2019 11:10:14 -0600 https://arvada.org/quiet-zones-along-union-pacific-progressing Quiet Zone Update as of December 2017 G Line https://arvada.org/gold-line-light-rail Mon, 19 Aug 2019 10:22:59 -0600 https://arvada.org/gold-line-light-rail Rail Safety Tips: Never trespass on any train track. Cross the tracks only at designated crossings. Follow safety signage and obey warning devices like flashing red lights and gate arms. Stay alert Restoring Arvada's .04 Trolley https://arvada.org/supporting-the-restoration-of-arvada-s-04-trolley Fri, 16 Aug 2019 06:22:10 -0600 https://arvada.org/supporting-the-restoration-of-arvada-s-04-trolley In 2015, a streetcar which operated between Arvada and Denver from 1902 – 1950 was named to the Colorado Most Endangered Places List by Colorado Preservation, Inc. Today, Friends of the .04 Tro W. 72nd Avenue Bond Project https://arvada.org/w-72nd-avenue-project Wed, 14 Aug 2019 09:05:50 -0600 https://arvada.org/w-72nd-avenue-project Lane Closures on 72nd west of Kipling City to Participate in Comprehensive Homeless Count; Seeks Volunteers https://arvada.org/city-to-participate-in-comprehensive-homeless-count-seeks-volunteers Thu, 08 Aug 2019 14:56:51 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-to-participate-in-comprehensive-homeless-count-seeks-volunteers August 9, 2019--The City of Arvada is partnering with Jefferson County; the cities of Edgewater, Golden, Lakewood, Westminster and Wheat Ridge; and service providers to conduct the Jefferson County Co Lake Arbor Golf Club https://arvada.org/lake-arbor-golfcourse-division Tue, 06 Aug 2019 14:29:50 -0600 https://arvada.org/lake-arbor-golfcourse-division Lake Arbor Golf Club is celebrating its 45th anniversary September 19 -22 Complaints About Weeds https://arvada.org/complaints-about-weeds-on-the-rise Mon, 05 Aug 2019 16:09:09 -0600 https://arvada.org/complaints-about-weeds-on-the-rise The City has received an increased number of phone calls regarding weed growth in the community. We understand that tall weeds can be an eyesore, whether it is on your neighbor’s property, in th Arvada Olde Town Water Tower https://arvada.org/arvada-s-olde-town-water-tower Sun, 14 Jul 2019 18:45:49 -0600 https://arvada.org/arvada-s-olde-town-water-tower A new lighting system is now in place for the Olde Town Water Tower Bicycle Recycle Program https://arvada.org/bicycle-recycle-program Sun, 09 Jun 2019 07:29:16 -0600 https://arvada.org/bicycle-recycle-program Bike recycle event nets 200 no-longer-used bikes to be refurbished and distributed to those in need City of Arvada Named Top Work Place 2018 https://arvada.org/city-of-arvada-named-top-work-place-2018 Fri, 07 Jun 2019 16:02:18 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-of-arvada-named-top-work-place-2018 The City of Arvada has been selected as a Denver Post Top Work Place for 2018 Teen Police Academy https://arvada.org/teen-academy Tue, 09 Apr 2019 13:44:57 -0600 https://arvada.org/teen-academy Arvada PD will be accepting applications for 2019 in March of 2019. Don Allard Honored for Decades of Public Service https://arvada.org/don-allard-honored-for-decades-of-public-service Tue, 26 Feb 2019 13:09:28 -0700 https://arvada.org/don-allard-honored-for-decades-of-public-service It was the end of an era at the November 13, 2017 Arvada City Council meeting when longtime City Councilmember  2018 Human Services Funding Allocations https://arvada.org/2018-human-services-funding-allocations Wed, 16 Jan 2019 10:51:51 -0700 https://arvada.org/2018-human-services-funding-allocations Since its establishment in 1998, the Arvada Human Services Advisory Committee--composed of community members appointed by the Arvada City Council—has awarded grant funding to area non-profits pr Telephone Scam https://arvada.org/telephone-scam Wed, 16 Jan 2019 10:48:19 -0700 https://arvada.org/telephone-scam August 2017 Please be aware residents are receiving solicitation calls from phone numbers that appear to be from the City of Arvada. This is NOT the City of Arvada calling. Scammers frequently "s Jefferson Parkway BOD Selects Finalists toward Potential Parkway Partnership https://arvada.org/jefferson-parkway-bod-selects-three-teams-as-finalists-toward-potential-parkway-partnership Fri, 28 Dec 2018 16:56:53 -0700 https://arvada.org/jefferson-parkway-bod-selects-three-teams-as-finalists-toward-potential-parkway-partnership ARVADA, CO - on Thursday, December 20, the Jefferson Parkway Public Highway Authority (JPPHA) Board of Directors selected three teams from among five submissions to move to the reques August 1, 2018, The Launch of Speak Up Arvada https://arvada.org/august-1-2018-the-launch-of-speak-up-arvada Fri, 28 Dec 2018 16:53:16 -0700 https://arvada.org/august-1-2018-the-launch-of-speak-up-arvada (Arvada, CO) –  Local governments are changing the way they manage, with a growing emphasis on including citizen input in their decision-making processes. The Arvada City Council is ex Voters Approve Ballot Issue 3F https://arvada.org/voters-approve-ballot-issue-3f Fri, 28 Dec 2018 16:51:50 -0700 https://arvada.org/voters-approve-ballot-issue-3f November 7, 2018... The results are in for the November 6, 2018 election. Arvada residents voted to approve Ballot Issue 3F, paving the way for Two Big Projects with No New Taxes. 66.2% of voters appr City's Finance Department Awarded Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting https://arvada.org/city-s-finance-department-awarded-certificate-of-achievement-for-excellence-in-financial-reporting Fri, 28 Dec 2018 16:51:10 -0700 https://arvada.org/city-s-finance-department-awarded-certificate-of-achievement-for-excellence-in-financial-reporting The Finance Department has won this award 33 times. Public recognition of this latest award will take place at the January 22, 2018 Council Meeting. The Certificate of Achievement for Excellence City's Purchasing Team Recognized as Procurement Team of the Year https://arvada.org/city-s-purchasing-team-recognized-as-procurement-team-of-the-year Fri, 28 Dec 2018 16:50:43 -0700 https://arvada.org/city-s-purchasing-team-recognized-as-procurement-team-of-the-year The City of Arvada Purchasing Team has been awarded the 2018 Procurement Team of the Year award from Rocky Mountain Governmental Purchasing Association (RMGPA)--Chapter of the National Insti Arvada Watering Guidelines and Restrictions https://arvada.org/watering Fri, 30 Nov 2018 14:27:04 -0700 https://arvada.org/watering There are no watering restrictions in place for 2018; however, the City does recommend watering guidelines