City of Arvada News Article Feed https://arvada.org Explore News Articles from the City of Arvada. en-US hourly 1 Copyright 2018 City of Arvada, Colorado Tue, 18 Sep 2018 12:24:33 -0600 Tue, 18 Sep 2018 12:24:33 -0600 60 Indiana Street and 72nd Avenue Intersection Upgrade Project https://arvada.org/indiana-street-and-72nd-avenue-intersection-upgrade-project Tue, 18 Sep 2018 07:57:56 -0600 https://arvada.org/indiana-street-and-72nd-avenue-intersection-upgrade-project Beginning September 24, 72nd Ave. west of Indiana will be closed at the bridge. Full Closure of 72nd Avenue at Indiana Street https://arvada.org/full-closire-of-72nd-avenue-at-indiana-street Mon, 17 Sep 2018 20:34:39 -0600 https://arvada.org/full-closire-of-72nd-avenue-at-indiana-street Arvada, CO – Starting at 11 a.m. on Sept. 24, W. 72nd Ave. for approximately 500 feet west of Indiana St. (Colorado Highway 72) will be closed for up to three months for a fu Arvada Days Festival Returns September 22 2018 https://arvada.org/arvada-days-festival-returns-september-22-2018 Sat, 15 Sep 2018 07:38:33 -0600 https://arvada.org/arvada-days-festival-returns-september-22-2018 Arvada, CO – Bring the whole family and take a walk back in time to celebrate Arvada’s pioneering heritage during  Arvada Days, produced by the Arvada Festivals Commission.  August 1, 2018, The Launch of Speak Up Arvada https://arvada.org/august-1-2018-the-launch-of-speak-up-arvada Sat, 08 Sep 2018 07:29:56 -0600 https://arvada.org/august-1-2018-the-launch-of-speak-up-arvada (Arvada, CO) –  Local governments are changing the way they manage, with a growing emphasis on including citizen input in their decision-making processes. The Arvada City Council is ex July 27 2018 Two Big Projects No New Taxes https://arvada.org/july-27-2018-two-big-projects-now-new-taxes Sat, 08 Sep 2018 07:29:17 -0600 https://arvada.org/july-27-2018-two-big-projects-now-new-taxes (Arvada, CO) – At their August 20 meeting, the Arvada City Council will be voting as to whether to place an issue on the November 2018 ballot to authorize the issuance of debt without Council Places Bonding Issue on November Ballot https://arvada.org/council-places-bonding-issue-on-november-ballot Fri, 07 Sep 2018 16:10:12 -0600 https://arvada.org/council-places-bonding-issue-on-november-ballot (Arvada, CO) –  At their August 27 meeting, the Arvada City Council voted unanimously (7 – 0) to place the following issue on the November 2018 ballot: WITHOUT IMPOSING ANY NEW Resident Tax Rebate Program https://arvada.org/taxrebate Wed, 05 Sep 2018 11:02:22 -0600 https://arvada.org/taxrebate The deadline to apply for the Resident Rebate is August 31, 2018 Arvada Watering Guidelines and Restrictions https://arvada.org/watering Wed, 05 Sep 2018 10:39:26 -0600 https://arvada.org/watering There are no watering restrictions in place for 2018; however, the City does recommend watering guidelines Updates on G Line  https://arvada.org/gold-line-and-northwest-rail-line-overhead-wires-are-powered-up Fri, 31 Aug 2018 12:14:57 -0600 https://arvada.org/gold-line-and-northwest-rail-line-overhead-wires-are-powered-up RTD has released a statement regarding the PUC's recent ruling Advance Arvada (Land Development Code Update) https://arvada.org/land-development-code-update Fri, 31 Aug 2018 12:08:07 -0600 https://arvada.org/land-development-code-update The next public open house for the Land Development Code update will be held August 29 at City Hall. Housing Resource Fair https://arvada.org/housing-resource-fair Thu, 30 Aug 2018 14:58:06 -0600 https://arvada.org/housing-resource-fair Housing Resource Fair Saturday, September 29, 2018 10 am - 12 noon Apex Community Recreation Center 6842 Wadsworth Blvd (across from the Arvada Center)   Arvadans for Progressive Action, A Teen Police Academy https://arvada.org/teen-academy Wed, 22 Aug 2018 16:55:10 -0600 https://arvada.org/teen-academy Arvada PD will be accepting applications for 2019 in March of 2019. New Public Works Director Named https://arvada.org/new-public-works-director-named Wed, 22 Aug 2018 07:20:30 -0600 https://arvada.org/new-public-works-director-named Arvada, CO ……Burton “Burt” Knight has been named Arvada’s new Director of Public Works.  Knight replaces Bob Manwaring, who retired on August 10.  Knigh Arvada Reservoir https://arvada.org/arvada-blunn-reservoir Mon, 20 Aug 2018 08:26:45 -0600 https://arvada.org/arvada-blunn-reservoir Fishing season is open! Location, hours and fee information available here Arvada Parks Ranger Program https://arvada.org/arvada-parks-ranger-program Sat, 11 Aug 2018 07:00:59 -0600 https://arvada.org/arvada-parks-ranger-program Apply to be part of Arvada Parks Pilot Ranger Program City Adopts Cultural Master Plan https://arvada.org/city-adopts-cultural-master-plan Sat, 11 Aug 2018 06:56:07 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-adopts-cultural-master-plan The Arvada Cultural Master Plan sets a vision and charts a course Arts and Culture in Arvada Leyden Road Street Improvements Project https://arvada.org/leyden-road-street-improvements-project Fri, 10 Aug 2018 16:48:29 -0600 https://arvada.org/leyden-road-street-improvements-project Work on the Leyden Road Street Improvements Project between Quaker Street and Orion Way has begun. The contractor for the project is Concrete Express, Inc. (CEI). Traffic control and lane cl Water Quality Report https://arvada.org/water-quality-report Wed, 01 Aug 2018 07:41:49 -0600 https://arvada.org/water-quality-report the City of Arvada’s Water System Operations Staff work hard to ensure that drinking water flows to Arvada taps every day. Link Strate Named Chief of Police https://arvada.org/finalists-for-police-chief-announced Sat, 28 Jul 2018 11:58:14 -0600 https://arvada.org/finalists-for-police-chief-announced On July 2, City Manager Mark Deven announced that he has appointed Link Strate as the new Arvada Chief of Police. Cop Rocks https://arvada.org/arvada-s-citizens-police-academy-alumni-association-announce-cop-rocks-community-program Thu, 05 Jul 2018 09:55:24 -0600 https://arvada.org/arvada-s-citizens-police-academy-alumni-association-announce-cop-rocks-community-program A new community relations program using colorfully painted, police-themed rocks Bicycle Recycle Program https://arvada.org/bicycle-recycle-program Sun, 03 Jun 2018 05:54:31 -0600 https://arvada.org/bicycle-recycle-program Drop off your no-longer-used bikes on June 9 to be restored and distributed to a neighbor in need Communicating with the City https://arvada.org/communicating-with-the-city Tue, 08 May 2018 11:21:09 -0600 https://arvada.org/communicating-with-the-city Social Media and the City More and more citizens are turning to social media to discuss News and neighborhood issues. Sometimes conversation threads develop on those social media sites regarding a s City of Arvada Named Top Work Place 2018 https://arvada.org/city-of-arvada-named-top-work-place-2018 Sun, 06 May 2018 05:56:27 -0600 https://arvada.org/city-of-arvada-named-top-work-place-2018 The City of Arvada has been selected as a Denver Post Top Work Place for 2018 Garden in a Box Program https://arvada.org/garden-in-a-box-program Fri, 20 Apr 2018 09:20:08 -0600 https://arvada.org/garden-in-a-box-program 2018 Garden In a Box kits with $25 discounts available for Arvada residents Update: Quiet Zones Along Union Pacific  https://arvada.org/quiet-zones-along-union-pacific-progressing Mon, 04 Dec 2017 15:59:29 -0700 https://arvada.org/quiet-zones-along-union-pacific-progressing Quiet Zone Update as of December 2017 Greenbelt No-Nos https://arvada.org/trees-gardens-planted-in-city-park-open-space-areas Fri, 04 Mar 2016 08:46:15 -0700 https://arvada.org/trees-gardens-planted-in-city-park-open-space-areas Help keep the City's parks and open space areas easy to maintain by not planting in them Mayor Pro Tem Fifer Reappointed to National League of Cities Informational Technology Communications Committee https://arvada.org/councilmember-bob-fifer-appointed-vice-chair-of-national-league-of-cities-informational-technology-communications-committee Thu, 17 Dec 2015 12:07:56 -0700 https://arvada.org/councilmember-bob-fifer-appointed-vice-chair-of-national-league-of-cities-informational-technology-communications-committee Arvada, CO….. Bob Fifer, City of Arvada Mayor Pro Tempore, has been appointed vice chair of the National League of Cities (NLC) 2016 Information Technology & Communications committee. This Leadership Arvada https://arvada.org/leadership-arvada-2012-2014 Fri, 29 May 2015 17:00:46 -0600 https://arvada.org/leadership-arvada-2012-2014 Announcing Leadership Arvada