Skip Main Navigation
Skip to Content

Jan 5, 2015 - Arvada Joins Next Century Cities

Nationwide initiative supports broadband investment for community development

The City of Arvada has joined Next Century Cities, a bipartisan, city-to-city initiative dedicated to ensuring the availability of next-generation broadband Internet for all communities.

“Broadband is quickly becoming essential for both Arvada businesses and residents–on par with water, wastewater, power, and other municipal services,” stated Mayor Marc Williams. “The strategic goals adopted by the Arvada City Council cannot be achieved without including broadband as part of the equation.”

The City’s strategic plan includes the following initiatives:

By 2015, 90% of street reconstruction and new street construction projects located on the City Conduit Map will include conduits for fiber optics and dry utilities.
By 2019, 97% of the geographic area of the City will have wired or mobile high speed network connectivity for City employees who provide City services.
By 2019, 90% urban centers and corridors have high speed internet connectivity available to residents, businesses and visitors.

To date, 50 cities have joined Next Century Cities, recognizing the importance of leveraging gigabit-level Internet to attract new businesses and create jobs, improve health care and education, and connect residents to new opportunities. Member cities include: Ammon (ID), Arvada (CO), Auburn (IN), Austin (TX), Beverly Hills (CA), Boston (MA), Burbank (CA), Carbondale (IL), Centennial (CO), Centerville (UT), Champaign (IL), Chattanooga (TN), Clarksville (TN), Columbus (OH), Culver City (CO), Gresham (OR), Jackson (TN), Kansas City (KS), Kansas City (MO), Lafayette (LA), Leverett (MA), Lexington (KY), Los Angeles (CA), Louisville (KY), Medina County (OH), Montrose (CO), Morristown (TN), Mount Vernon (WA), Opelika (AL), Palo Alto (CA), Ponca City (OK), Portland (OR), Raleigh (NC), Rockport (ME), Salisbury (NC), San Antonio (TX), Sandy (OR), Santa Cruz County (CA), Santa Monica (CA), South Portland (ME), South San Francisco (CA), Stamford (CT), Syracuse (NY), Tucson (AZ), Urbana (IL), Vancouver (WA), Westminster (MD), Wilson (NC), Winthrop (MN), and Yellow Springs (OH).

For more information on Next Century Cities, visit