As a courtesy, the Municipal Court sends notification letters to people for whom judges have issued bench warrants. Bench warrants are court orders to the police to arrest someone and place them in custody until the Court reconvenes. Municipal Court warrants are issued for one’s failure to appear in court at a scheduled court date as promised in writing, or for their failure to pay a fine by a designated date as promised, or for their failure to comply with other orders of the Court. The judge issuing the warrant will set a dollar amount of bail. People must post a bond in the amount of the bail to secure their release from custody. In addition to the bail amount set by the judge, an $80 warrant service fee is imposed by court order on each warrant issued.
To clear a warrant, please report to the Municipal Court at 8101 Ralston Road and check in with a court clerk. Warrant clearance hours are Monday – Thursday from 8:30 a.m. to 11:30 or 1:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
If you are under the age of 18 years old, you must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian to clear a warrant.
AFTER HOURS WARRANT CLEARING
If you are arrested or want to clear a warrant after hours, you will need to turn yourself in at any police department and you will be required to post a bond in the amount ordered on the warrant. For example, if bond is ordered at $500, it may be posted in the following ways:
- Pay the full amount in cash, either by the defendant or another person (which will either be applied against any future fine imposed by the Court or returned in full if all subsequent court appearances and obligations are met).
- Through the services of a Surety Bail Bonding Agency. In this method, the bondsman secures the release of a person from custody and pledges to assure their future appearance before the Court. In return, a non-refundable premium is paid to the bail bondsman. The contract between an individual and their bail bondsman is a private matter and not subject to the control of the Court.
Outstanding Judgement Warrant (OJW)
Colorado law requires this Court to notify the Motor Vehicle Division of the Department of Revenue (DMV) when a bench warrant is issued for one’s failure to appear or comply with conditions of a traffic ticket (or any type of offense if the person is less than 18 years of age). In this instance, DMV will revoke a Colorado driver’s license. Also, the law imposes a $30 fee in addition to any other fees that might apply. If the person is licensed to drive by another state, the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicle may initiate license revocation proceedings in that state.
Upon clearing an OJW you will be given an OJW Release. The release indicates the date you satisfied all the conditions of the warrant. You will need to go to the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) and give them the OJW Release to ensure your DMV record is updated.